Togashi Yoshihiro
Togashi-sensei's manga works are presented chronologically.

Ookami nante kowakunai!!
Translation: "I'm not afraid of the wolf!"
Published in 1989, this collection of short stories includes Togashi's debut story, "Tonda Birthday Present", as well as "Buttobi Straight", the winner of the Tezuka prize, "Occult Tanteidan" 1 and 2, (the band of occult detectives), "Horror Angel", and the title work, "Ookami nante kowakunai!!". Each of the stories is an illustration of Togashi's tendency to write about the supernatural. The art style in these is simple and cute.

Ten de Shouwaru Cupid
Translation: "Wicked Cupid"
Published in 1989 and running until mid-1990, Ten de Shouwaru Cupid was published in four separate manga tankoubon (volumes). It was Togashi's first attempt to serialize a weekly manga publication. The series (like all of Togashi's other works) was published in Shounen Weekly Jump. The art style is simple and cute.

Yu Yu Hakusho
This is probably Togashi's most famous series. Yu Yu Hakusho was first published in Shounen Weekly Jump in 1990 and ran until 1994, eventually spanning an impressive 19-volume tankoubon set. It features Yuusuke, a dead boy with an attitude and a high level of spiritual energy; eventually he returns to life and spends his time defeating demons either in tournaments or as a service to the God of the Dead. A team of demons and powerful humans form around him, and aid him in his fight. Yu Yu Hakusho was made into an anime series; Sailormoon fans might be interested to know that Ogata Megumi, the voice actor for Tenoh Haruka, was also the voice actor for Kurama, one of the main characters in Yu Yu Hakusho. Togashi's art style in YYH ranges all over the map. His characters are extremely cutely rendered in the happy parts, only to become disturbingly realistic in the middle of battles or very angsty scenes.

Level E
"Level E" moves into the realm of science fiction, spinning into a fantastic universe in which extraterrestrials draw an innocent human into their rather strange intrigues. It was first published in Shounen Weekly Jump in 1995, and ran until 1997. It spans three volumes of tankoubon. Togashi's art style in Level E is much more realistic than his previous manga styles, and a bit more grim.

Hunter x Hunter
"Hunter x Hunter" is Togashi's most recent manga effort. Beginning in 1998 and still running in Shonen Weekly Jump, it features a return to Togashi's original "cutesy" art style. However, Togashi doesn't hesitate to depict bloody violence when he chooses to. Some of the monsters and demons in this series are also very fantastically rendered. The main character of HXH is named Gon, a bright-eyed, good-hearted boy with talent, who wishes to become a "Hunter" like his father. "Hunters" are people with fearsome skills, who bend all their formidable attention towards reaching a specific goal. Along the way, Gon picks up friends and enemies, and his world gets extremely complicated. Several tankoubon of HXH have already been released, as well as a novel, an animated version, and a video game.

Togashi's manga series generally tend to depict the world as a chaotic, violent madhouse. However, even though he's writing shounen manga, Togashi seems to like flavoring his stories with a certain sort of ironic humor and sweetness, making sure that everything comes out all right in the end. His characters are flawed but, for the most part, are enthusiastic and joyful, romping through life and accepting it instead of wallowing in its miseries (which come in plenty).

Togashi stats Togashi details manga series art gallery Togashi links home